Rewarding excellent students

TEN final year students from University of Malaya were granted the “U Excellence” Academic Award at the inaugural launch of the scholarship at Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur.

U Mobile Sdn Bhd, together with the Ministry of Communications and Multimedia, launched the initiative to reward well-deserving students who have accomplished academic achievements beyond expectations. The “U Excellence” Academic Award is the first telco-backed award in Malaysia to offer scholarships to local university students.

The launch was held in conjunction with U Mobile’s Hari Raya Open House celebration, with Minister of Communications and Multimedia Malaysia Datuk Seri Panglima Salleh Said Keruak and Minister of Agriculture and Agro-based Industry Datuk Seri Ahmad Shabery Cheek among the guests of honour.

U Mobile chief executive officer Wong Heang Tuck officiated the ceremony and later handed over the certificates to the ten scholarship recipients. Each student was granted RM5,000 as a recognition of their achievement. The students will also be offered internship programmes with U Mobile upon graduation, offering them a stepping stone to develop their careers and talents.

Each of the students come from different field of studies including economics, education, arts and social science and have performed exceptionally well by obtaining an average CGPA of 3.5 and above in their final year. Priority of the award was given to students coming from underprivileged backgrounds to reward their hardwork in the face of adversity. In addition, exemplary leadership skills and strong participation in extra-curricular activities were also taken into consideration. The ten recipients were:
► Aaron Denison Deivasagayam (Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences)
► Farhana Ghazali (Academy of Islamic Studies)
► Loh Chee Keen (Faculty of Economics and Administration)
► Mohamad Rahim Mohd Ramli (Cultural Centre)
► Muhammad Abu Lais Mohd Radzi (Faculty of Built Environments)
► Noor Azizah Mohd Said (Faculty of Education)
► Nurul Nadhirah Mohd Zober (Faculty of Language and Linguistics)
► Shatis Kumar Chirgali Ayappan (Cultural Centre)
► Siti ‘Aisyah Aziz (Academy of Islamic Studies)
► Yoferonika Paulus (Sports Centre)

“With this award, we are investing in the excellence of today’s youth to give them a boost to continue to strive for the best in life. Our latest initiative will be an avenue for U Mobile to recognise individuals that have gone beyond expectations of conduct. This will be one of our annual awards to recognise excellent scholars, as we hope to be part of their journey to success and make this country a better place for generations to come,” shared Wong.