Sarawak BN has received list of candidates for Pujut state by-election: Abang Johari

KUCHING: The Sarawak Barisan Nasional (BN) has received the list containing the names of several candidates for the by-election for the Pujut state assembly seat.

Chief Minister Datuk Amar Abang Johari Tun Openg, who is also the state BN chairman, said the final decision on the candidate to be selected would be decided at the Sarawak BN meeting expected to be held before the nomination process.

"We already have the name but I will make the announcement after the Sarawak BN meeting. Whether the BN would field a 'direct candidate' would also be scrutinised and would depend on the situation," he said.

He disclosed this at the media conference after distributing the Aidilfitri Contribution for the Satok state constituency, here today.

The by-election for the Pujut State Assembly seat is being held following the 'withdrawal' of the eligibility of the incumbent Dr Ting Tiong Choon from the DAP as a member of the State Legislative Assembly (ADUN) by the Sarawak State Assembly on May 12.

In the 11th state election in May, Dr Ting won with a majority of 1,759 votes beating three other candidates namely Datuk Hii King Chiong (BN), Jofri Jaraiee (PAS) and Fong Pau Teck (Independent).

The 'direct candidate' formula was introduced by the late Tan Sri Adenan Satem to resolve the dispute between the Parti Rakyat Bersatu Sarawak (SUPP) and its splinter party, Parti Rakyat Bersatu (UPP).

The Election Commission has fixed July 4 for the by-election of the State Assembly seat while nomination is set for June 20. — Bernama