Four companies awarded naming rights for four MRT stations

PETALING JAYA: Four companies have won the rights to name four Mass Rapid Transit (MRT) stations on the Sungai Buloh-Kajang Line said MRT Corporation Sdn Bhd (MRT Corp).

MRT Corp.’s Commercial and Land Management director Datuk Haris Fadzilah Hassan said in a statement today that the four companies have bought the rights to name the stations.

The four are Jendela Mayang Sdn Bhd, Manulife Insurance Bhd, Kuala Lumpur Pavilion Sdn Bhd and Aeon Co (M) Bhd.

The Pusat Bandar Damansara station will be known as Pavilion Damansara Heights, Semantan as Manulife-Semantan, Bukit Bintang as Pavilion Kuala Lumpur-Bukit Bintang and Maluri – Aeon-Maluri.

He said under the programme, a licensee is accorded the right to its name, logo, or product brand to be associated with the station by having it prefixed to the station’s name.

Haris said the licensees had been selected following a tender exercise that was conducted earlier this year.

Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Abdul Razak is scheduled to launch the second phase of the SBK line on July 17, allowing the train to run the entire 51km alignment from Sungai Buloh to Kajang.

The first phase covering 21 kilometres from Sungai Buloh to Semantan consisting of 12 stations became fully operational in December last year.