Ipoh City Council wins award

IPOH: The Ipoh City Council had been accorded a five star rating for the top local authority in the country by the Ministry of Urban Well being, Housing and Local Government for 2016.

Ipoh City Mayor Datuk Zamri Man said the response by residents to the questions posed by the panel of judges, was the main contributing factor for the recognition.

"There are 354 criterias to be fulfilled to qualify for the award, which includes problems faced by the people, cleanliness, revenue collection and management, landscaping and public utilities," he told reporters after receiving the award from Tan Sri Noh Omar.

"He said 80% of the residents responded positively to the questionnaires on the functions and responsibilities of the council.

"To maintain the status of the rating, the role of the public is important, in terms of not dumping rubbish indiscriminately, not vandalising public property, and planting more trees to maintain a greener environment.

Noh said the award is a reflection of how well councils manage cities and towns.

"We are now planning to give a similar recognition to housing estates from next year," he added.

Perak Mentri Besar Datuk Seri Zambry Abd Kadir who was present, said the award was a great achievement for Ipoh, despite criticism from certain quarters.

"They even criticise me for going down to the ground with workers to clean and collect garbage.

"We checked public toilets, improved the delivery system and other services which finally gained recognition," he added.

In 2008, the council only attained a three star rating.

The council chalked up 97.45 marks, the highest number of points among 41 local authorities nationwide who received the five star rating.

The council also received RM200,000 for the five-star rating.

Seven other municipalities and district councils in Perak were among the 41 local authorities given five star ratings.

Manjung Municipality (94.75), Batu Gajah district council (92.60), Taiping Municipality (92.36), Kampar district council (92.01), Kerian district council (91.43), Teluk Intan Municipality (90.63) and Kuala Kangsar (90.62).