Azizulhasni, Jun Hoong crowned sportsman, sportswoman of 2017

KUALA LUMPUR: National track cyclist, Mohd Azizulhasni Awang and diving queen, Cheong Jun Hoong were respectively crowned Sportsman and Sportswoman of 2017 for their world champion performances last year.

Mohd Azizulhasni fondly called The Pocket Rocketman created history by clinching the gold medal in the keirin event at the 2017 UCI Track Cycling World Championships in Hong Kong while Jun Hoong was spectacular in winning the gold medal in the women's individual 10m platform at the World Aquatic Championships in Budapest, Hungary last year.

The Yang di-Pertuan Agong Sultan Muhammad V presented a revolving trophy, a personal trophy, a certificate and RM20,000 each to Mohd Azizulhasni and Jun Hoong.

Also present at the presentation ceremony was Youth and Sports Minister Khairy Jamaluddin.

Last year, Mohd Azizulhasni, 30, made a string of conquests including the gold medal at the 2017 Asian Track Cycling Championships in India as well as the keirin and sprint gold medals at the 29th Kuala Lumpur SEA Games.

Meanwhile, Jun Hoong also contributed a bronze medal with Pandelela Rinong in the women's synchronised 10m platform in Budapest.

The 28-year-old diver also bagged the silver medal with Pandelela in the same event at the World Series.

The Perak-born also contributed a gold medal in the women's individual 1m springboard at the Kuala Lumpur SEA Games last year.

In this regard, world champion, Muhammad Ziyad Zolkefli was crowned the National Paralympic Sportsman of the Year for his gold medal in the men's shot put F20 (learning disability) at the 2017 World Para Athletics Championships in London.

Muhammad Ziyad who was a Rio Paralympic Games gold medalist broke the world record in 17.29m in the London meet to erase his own record of 16.84m set in Rio.

Muhammad Ziyad also contributed a gold medal in the 2017 ASEAN Para Games in Kuala Lumpur and won a bronze medal when competing with normal athletes in the Kuala Lumpur SEA Games.

He received RM20,000, a revolving trophy, a personal trophy and a certificate from Sultan Muhammad V.

There was, however, no recipient for the National Paralympic Sportswoman of the Year.

Meanwhile, the men's national hockey squad were awarded the National Team (Mens') for qualifying for the World Cup in Bhubaneswar, India this year apart from the gold medal in World League second round and fourth place in the World League semi-finals in London as well as successfully defending their gold medal at 2017 SEA Games.

The hockey squad who are now ranked 12th in the world also won the silver medal in the 2017 Hero Asia Cup in Dhaka, Bangladesh.

The women's tenpin bowling team were crowned the National Team (Women's) of the Year when they emerged as women's team world champions in the World Championships in Las Vegas, U.S. — Bernama