PAS to steer clear of hudud in Penang

KEPALA BATAS: PAS will not touch on the issue of the Syariah Criminal Procedural Code (hudud) during campaigning for the 14th general election in Penang.

The hudud law belongs in Muslim – majority states such as Kelantan and Terengganu but in Penang, the Islamist party will namely focus on core issues related to "bread and butter", the wrath of mother nature and housing.

Penang PAS commissioner Muhammad Fauzi Yusoff said the party was being practical in its approach in Penang.

"As there are many non–Muslims in Penang, it is logical not to dwell on hudud. Such laws are only applicable in the Muslim heartland and it also takes time for people to understand the law's honourable intentions," said Fauzi, who will be defending the party's sole seat in Penang, the Permatang Pasir state seat.

The incumbent Datuk Mohd Salleh Man, who was previously the state PAS commissioner, will not be defending the seat.

According to Fauzi, the party under its formal alliance of Gagasan Sejahtera will focus on living costs, housing and will address the perennial flood issue.

"Unlike others, who just preach, PAS has a solution to the problems faced by voters in Penang when it comes to the economy, housing and flooding."

"The solutions shall be made known when campaigning commences," he said.

PAS has unveiled its intention to contest in 18 state and six parliament seats.

Among the state's household names are Fauzi, Mohd Yusni Piah, the former PAS Youth executive committee member and two former Penang Island City Council (MBPP) councillors – Iszuree Ibrahim and Yacoob Omar.

Afnan Hamimi Taib Azamudden, whose father was the former Imam of the National Mosque, will also be contesting.

Fauzi said that PAS was not afraid of any opponent, judging from its historic move to field prominent personalities in two mixed seats here.

Iszuree will contest the mixed seat of Bayan Baru where he is likely to face the incumbent Sim Tze Tzin, who is the PKR strategic planning director.

Yacoob has made history by becoming the first PAS member to contest in a predominantly Chinese seat in Sungai Pinang.

He will take on DAP and Teh Yee Cheu, formerly of DAP and now contesting as an Independent under the Parti Sosialis Malaysia (PSM) ticket in the Sungai Pinang state seat.

Afnan will contest in the Permatang Pauh parliamentary seat, a PKR stronghold.

Barisan Nasional (BN) is expected to field Mohd Zaidi Said, the Umno division head there; making the contest one of the many multi-cornered fights here.

Fauzi also confirmed that its strategic alliance of Gagasan will also contest in Penang through Ikatan Bangsa Malaysia, the Pan-Malaysian Islamic Front and Parti Cinta Malaysia.

He also confirmed that they have secured an informal alliance with the People's Alternative Party (PAP) and the Penang Front Party (PFP) as well as to deploy the PAS Supporters Club Council's leaders in the election.

It means that the Gagasan alliance will contest up to 21 state seats and the majority of the 15 parliament seats in Penang.

"If we can win the 21 state seats, we can form the government with a simple majority, God Willing," said Fauzi.

He added that the party may refrain from personal attacks during the campaigning, but it will point out the numerous warnings that it issued to the DAP-led state government over flooding, which had apparently fallen on deaf ears.

The following is Penang PAS' candidates list for the 14th general election:


Siti Mastura Muhammad (Kepala Batas)

Rizal Hafiz Ruslan (Tasek Gelugor)

Afnan Hamimi Taib Azamuddin (Permatang Pauh)

Mohd Helmi Haron (Nibong Tebal)

Iszuree Ibrahim (Bayan Baru)

Muhammad Imran Muhammad Saad (Balik Pulau)


Mohd Yusni Mat Piah (Penaga)

Moktar Ramly (Bertam)

Bukhori Ghazali (Pinang Tunggal)

Mohd Sobri Saleh (Permatang Berangan)

Zahadi Mohd (Sungai Dua)

Mohamad Hanif Haron (Teluk Air Tawar)

Ahmad Rafaei Rashid (Seberang Jaya)

Muhammad Fauzi Yusoff (Permatang Pasir)

Fawwaz Mohamad Jan (Penanti)

Norazman Ishak (Bukit Tengah)

Osman Jaafar (Sungai Bakap)

Nor Zamri Latiff(Sungai Acheh)

Yacoob Omar (Sungai Pinang)

Mohd Farhan Yusri(Pantar Jerejak)

Saiful Lizan Md Yusuf (Batu Maung)

Zarina Shinta Madar (Bayan Lepas)

Muhd Taufik Hashim (Pulau Betong)

Muhd Ali Othman(Teluk Bahang)