Penang DAP unveils candidate list (Updated)

GEORGE TOWN: Penang DAP has officially unveiled its full list of candidates, with several party old-timers axed from the election line-up.

Lim Hock Seng, Danny Law Heng Kiang, Jeff Ooi, Lau Keng Ee, Ng Wei Aik and A. Thanasekaran will not be contesting in the 14th General Election (GE14), while eight new faces have been added to the party's candidate list.

The new faces are Daniel Gooi (Pengkalan Kota), Ong Ah Teong (Batu Lanchang), Chris Lee Chun Kit (Pulau Tikus), Syerleena Abd Rashid (Seri Delima), Heng Lee Lee (Berapit), Joseph Ng (Air Itam), H'ng Mooi Lye (Jawi), and M. Satees (Bagan Dalam).

State DAP chairman Chow Kon Yeow announced the list of candidates for the party at the Evergreen Laurel Hotel along the Gurney Drive promenade.

When met, outspoken Seberang Prai Municipal Council (MPSP) councillor M. Satees, 33, the candidate for Bagan Dalam, said he will relinquish his position after nomination, adding that he will keep in touch with incumbent assemblyman Thanasekaran for his views and opinions.

"I hope to revitalise the whole of Butterworth if given a chance to serve the people and bring a change to the area," he said.

Meanwhile, Gooi who will be up against MCA's Tanjong youth chief Lim Swee Bok, whose family perished in a fire which gutted their two-storey home.

He pledged to bring changes to Pengkalan Kota, which is a 90% Chinese dominated area, if elected.

Earlier in his speech, DAP secretary-general Lim Guan Eng took aim at Barisan Nasional (BN), saying the ruling coalition had not fulfilled its promise of building a Light Rail Transit system in Penang.

He said DAP will battle it out with fellow Pakatan Harapan (PH) coalition members to bring change and reform to the people.

"We need to win not only here but also in Putrajaya," he stressed.

Lim said the decision to field Chow in the Tanjong parliament seat and the Padang Kota state seat, is in order to facilitate the succession plan for the chief minister's post.

He said it would also ensure that federal matters related to the state would be taken care of.

He also thanked those who did not make it into the GE14 line-up, for continuing to support the party and the new candidates.

"I feel proud of them and appreciate their efforts," he said.

The list of candidates for parliament and state seats are as follows:

Bagan - Lim Guan Eng

State seats
Sungai Puyu - Phee Boon Poh
Bagan Jermal - Soon Lip Chee
Bagan Dalam - M. Satees

Bukit Mertajam - Sim Chee Keong

State seats
Berapit-Heng Lee Lee
Padang Lalang - Chong Eng

Batu Kawan - P. Kasthuri

State seats
Prai -Prof. P. Ramasamy
Jawi - H'ng Mooi Lye

Bukit Bendera - Wong Hon Wai

State seats
Tanjong Bungah - Zairil Khir Johari
Air Putih - Lim Guan Eng
Pulau Tikus - Chris Lee Chun Kit

Tanjong - Chow Kon Yeow

State seats
Padang Kota - Chow Kon Yeow
Pengkalan Kota - Daniel Gooi Zi Sen
Komtar - Teh Lai Heng

Jelutong - RSN Rayer

State seats
Datuk Keramat - Jagdeep Singh Deo
Sungai Pinang - Lim Siew Khim
Batu Lanchang - Ong Ah Teong

Bukit Gelugor - Ramkarpal Singh

State seats
Seri Delima - Syerleena Abd Rashid
Air Itam - Joseph Ng Soon Siang
Paya Terubong - Yeoh Soon Hin