BN announces Pahang candidates

KUANTAN: Barisan Nasional (BN) today announced its list of candidates for the 14 parliamentary and 42 state seats in Pahang for the 14th General Election (GE14).

BN will introduce 16 newbies while 34 old faces will be contesting in the parliamentary and state seats.

State BN chairman Datuk Seri Adnan Yaakob said three new candidates will be fielded at parliamentary seats and 12 for state seats.

He added that three incumbents – assemblymen Datuk Dr Ahmad Shukri Ismail (Pulau Tawar), Datuk Seri Maznah Mazlan (Muadzam Shah) and Datuk Lau Lee (Damak) – have been dropped.

A notable candidate was Temerloh Umno chief Datuk Seri Mohd Sharkar Shamsuddin, who will be contesting two seats – the Temerloh parliamentary and Lanchang state seats.

Umno will be contesting in 10 parliamentary and 31 state seats, MCA in three parliamentary and eight state seats, MIC in one parliamentary and one state seat, and Gerakan in two state seats.

Caretaker Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Abdul Razak will be defending his parliamentary seat in Pekan while MCA president Datuk Seri Liow Tiong Lai will also defend his Bentong parliamentary seat.

The candidate for the Bukit Ibam state seat is still unknown.

The candidates received their appointment letters from Adnan at Yayasan Pahang here today.