SEARCH

REUTERS NEWS SCHEDULE AT 6 a.m. GMT/2 p.m. SGT

19 Nov 2020 / 13:57 H.

    Here are the top stories and upcoming coverage plans for Reuters text service as of 6 a.m. GMT/2 p.m. SGT. For a full schedule of news and events, go to our editorial calendar on Reuters Connect https://www.reutersconnect.com/planning.

    TOP STORIES

    GLOBAL

    AUSTRALIA-DEFENCE

    Australian special forces suspected of killing 39 captured, unarmed people in Afghanistan: report

    SYDNEY (Reuters) - Australia said on Thursday that 19 current and former soldiers will be referred for potential criminal prosecution for allegedly killing 39 Afghan locals, the majority of whom had been captured and unarmed.

    HEALTH-CORONAVIRUS-SOUTHKOREA

    South Korea kicks off special anti-coronavirus period ahead of college entrance exam

    SEOUL (Reuters) - South Korea kicked off a special two-week coronavirus prevention period on Thursday as the country's daily infections tallies continued to mount ahead of highly competitive annual college entrance exams.

    U.S.

    HEALTH-CORONAVIRUS-USA

    U.S. COVID deaths top 250,000 as New York City schools halt in-person classes

    NEW YORK (Reuters) - The U.S. death toll from COVID-19 surpassed a grim new milestone of 250,000 lives lost on Wednesday, as New York City's public school system, the nation's largest, called a halt to in-classroom instruction, citing a jump in coronavirus infection rates.

    USA-ELECTION

    Ahead of recount results, Georgia officials say Biden likely to remain the winner

    WASHINGTON (Reuters) - A key battleground state in the 2020 presidential election is expected on Thursday to affirm Democrat Joe Biden's victory over President Donald Trump, which would deal yet another setback to Trump's scattershot efforts to hold on to power.

    BUSINESS

    HEALTH-CORONAVIRUS-VACCINES-PFIZER

    Pfizer-BioNTech vaccine deliveries could start 'before Christmas'

    Pfizer Inc and BioNTech could secure emergency U.S. and European authorization for their COVID-19 vaccine next month after final trial results showed it had a 95% success rate and no serious side effects, the drugmakers said on Wednesday.

    HEALTH-CORONAVIRUS-USA-AIRLINES

    U.S. airline CEOs renew request for more aid in letter to Congress

    WASHINGTON/CHICAGO (Reuters) - The chief executives of the seven largest U.S. airlines made a fresh plea for more payroll relief before the end of the year and pointed to the challenges of distributing a COVID-19 vaccine in a letter to Congressional leaders on Wednesday.

    ENTERTAINMENT

    FILM-WONDER WOMAN/

    'Wonder Woman 1984' to hit theaters and streaming on Christmas

    LOS ANGELES, Nov 18 (Reuters) - Superhero movie "Wonder Woman 1984" will debut simultaneously in U.S. theaters and on AT&T Inc's HBO Max streaming service starting on Christmas Day, an unusual release plan prompted by the coronavirus pandemic.

    HEALTH-CORONAVIRUS-AFGHANISTAN-FELT

    Young Afghan woman opens art gallery to create jobs, and hope, in pandemic

    KABUL (Reuters) - In a small art gallery in the Afghan capital, Marzia Panahi watches as one of the young artists she has just employed applies paint to a framed felt canvas propped up against a easel.

    SPORTS

    BASKETBALL-NBA-DRAFT

    Timberwolves select Georgia's Edwards first in 'virtual' draft

    The Minnesota Timberwolves selected former Georgia guard Anthony Edwards with the first pick in the NBA draft on Wednesday in a move the team hopes will help revive the struggling franchise.

    TENNIS-ATPFINALS

    Djokovic in peril at ATP Finals after thumping by mighty Medvedev

    LONDON (Reuters) - World number one Novak Djokovic had enough on his plate already on Wednesday without marauding Russian Daniil Medvedev pummelling him to a shock 6-3 6-3 defeat at the ATP Finals.

    UPCOMING

    POLITICS / INTERNATIONAL AFFAIRS

    HEALTH-CORONAVIRUS/EUROPE-DATA (PIX)

    COVID toll turns spotlight on Europe's taboo of data by race

    Many European countries avoid breaking down data along racial or ethnic lines out of concern over privacy or discrimination, but COVID-19's outsized impact on Black and Asian people has exposed flaws in the approach, some scientists and activists said.

    19 Nov 01:00 ET / 06:00 GMT

    IRAN-NUCLEAR/IAEA

    Quarterly IAEA Board of Governors meeting

    The U.N. nuclear watchdog's 35-nation Board of Governors holds a quarterly meeting. Iran's atomic activities and its deal with major powers, which the agency is policing, will be on the agenda.

    19 Nov 04:00 ET / 09:00 GMT

    EUROPE-MIGRANTS/SENEGAL (PIX) (TV)

    A village in Senegal, a boat to Europe, and a deadly end

    Seven neighbours from a village in western Senegal boarded a fishing boat crammed with migrants just after midnight on Oct. 26. Their destination: Europe, 1000 miles away over the open ocean.

    19 Nov 04:00 ET / 09:00 GMT

    HEALTH-CORONAVIRUS/SPAIN-DOCTORS (PIX)

    Come back! Spain rues exodus of doctors, nurses as Covid surges

    As Spain is struggling with one of Europe's worst coronavirus' second wave, it is lacking doctors and nurses at medical facilities as growing ranks of them are leaving the country each year exasperated by austerity cuts of the last decade and poor pay

    19 Nov 04:30 ET / 09:30 GMT

    NIGERIA-PROTESTS/ (PIX)

    Nigeria's information minister holds news conference on police protests

    Nigeria's information minister holds a news conference in which he is expected to discuss issues related to last month's nationwide protests against police brutality.

    19 Nov 05:00 ET / 10:00 GMT

    USA-ELECTION/TRUMP-LAWYERS (FACTBOX) (PIX)

    FACTBOX-Giuliani and the lawyers behind Trump's efforts to overturn the election results

    With most established law firms having withdrawn their representation of U.S. President Donald Trump in his long-shot challenges to U.S. election results, his personal lawyer Rudy Giuliani is spearheading the effort despite a lack of evidence of fraud and a string of losses.

    19 Nov 06:00 ET / 11:00 GMT

    APEC-SUMMIT/CANADA (TV)

    Canadian PM to speak at APEC business forum

    Canadian Prime Minister Justin Trudeau is scheduled to attend the APEC CEO Dialogues 2020 via video link, ahead of a leaders' virtual summit. Trudeau is to engage in a dialogue with one of the hosts on "the Future of Global Leadership".

    19 Nov 10:00 ET / 15:00 GMT

    USA-ELECTION/LAWSUIT-PENNSYLVANIA

    Court hears Trump campaign evidence in request to bar Pennsylvania from certifying Biden win

    A federal judge will hear evidence in support of a request by the Trump campaign for an injunction preventing Pennsylvania election officials from certifying Democratic challenger Joe Biden as the winner of the Nov. 3 election.

    19 Nov 10:00 ET / 15:00 GMT

    APEC-SUMMIT/CANADA (TV)

    Canadian PM to speak at APEC business forum

    Canadian Prime Minister Justin Trudeau is scheduled to attend the APEC CEO Dialogues 2020 via video link, ahead of a leaders' virtual summit. Trudeau is to engage in a dialogue with one of the hosts on "the Future of Global Leadership".

    20 Nov 11:00 ET / 16:00 GMT

    CRIME / LAW / JUSTICE

    FRANCE-ATTACK/TRIAL-AMERICANS (PIX) (TV)

    The three Americans who overpowered a suspected Islamist gunman on a train, show up in court

    The three "heroes" of the Thalys train show up in court to take part in the trial of a suspected Islamist gunman who opened fire on a high-speed train travelling through northern Europe but was overpowered by the three U.S. citizens before he killed anyone.

    19 Nov 03:00 ET / 08:00 GMT

    SCIENCE / TECHNOLOGY

    HEALTH-CORONAVIRUS/GERMANY (PIX) (TV)

    German health officials, RKI, hold briefing on COVID-19

    Germany's Robert Koch Institute for disease control (RKI) holds news conference, two days after Chancellor Angela Merkel called the country's coronavirus situation "very serious."

    19 Nov 04:00 ET / 09:00 GMT

    HEALTH-CORONAVIRUS/KENYA-HEALTHCARE (PIX) (TV)

    A doctor's death shows threat as COVID-19 surges through rural Kenya

    When Kenyan doctor Daniel Alushula began gasping for air after contracting COVID-19 last month, his own public hospital couldn't care for him - its intensive care unit was full.

    19 Nov 05:00 ET / 10:00 GMT

    HEALTH-CORONAVIRUS/WHO-EUROPE (TV)

    WHO European regional office gives press conference on COVID-19 outbreaks across continent

    World Health Organization (WHO) European office holds briefing its regional director Hans Kluge on situation of COVID-19 outbreaks across the continent.

    19 Nov 05:00 ET / 10:00 GMT

    HEALTH-CORONAVIRUS/NETHERLANDS-DISC JOCKEYS (TV)

    Booming Dutch DJs in lockdown as pandemic hits festivals

    Many of the world's leading DJs, several of them Dutch, have been forced into lockdown during the COVID-19 pandemic as dance festivals worldwide were cancelled or postponed.

    19 Nov 08:00 ET / 13:00 GMT

    BUSINESS / ECONOMICS

    WORLD-WORK/LOMONOCO

    For chef Michael Lomonaco, focusing on future is recipe for survival

    New York City chef Michael Lomonaco is no stranger to adversity. Lomonaco spoke to Reuters about the importance of survival skills in 2020.

    19 Nov 05:00 ET / 10:00 GMT

    TURKEY-ECONOMY/CENBANK

    Big rate rise expected after Turkish leadership overhaul

    Turkey's central bank is expected to sharply hike its policy rate by 475 points to 15% to support the lira and lower inflation, after President Tayyip Erdogan installed a new bank chief and hailed a more market-friendly economic strategy.

    19 Nov 06:00 ET / 11:00 GMT

    USA-FED/BOWMAN

    Federal Reserve Board Governor Bowman speaks to virtual Cleveland Fed conference

    Federal Reserve Board Governor Michelle Bowman speaks on "The Changing Structure of Mortgage Markets and Financial Stability" before virtual 2020 Financial Stability Conference: "Stress, Contagion and Transmission" hosted by the Federal Reserve Bank of Cleveland.

    19 Nov 12:30 ET / 17:30 GMT

    GM-EVS/

    GM to announce new plan for electric vehicles

    General Motors Co will announce its new electric vehicle strategy at a conference and sources have told Reuters it will be expanded and accelerated from prior plans.

    19 Nov 13:00 ET / 18:00 GMT

    email blast