Selangor exco line-up: PKR gets extra seat, PAS less one

26 Sep 2014 / 16:04 H.

SHAH ALAM: Parti Keadilan Rakyat (PKR) president and Kajang assemblyman Datuk Seri Dr Wan Azizah Wan Ismail will not be part of the new line up of Selangor state executive councillors under the administration of Selangor Mentri Besar and PKR deputy president Mohamed Azmin Ali.
Another change in the 10-member line up is that there will be more PKR members and less PAS members than the line up in the previous administration under former Selangor Mentri Besar Tan Sri Khalid Ibrahim.
The line up, unveiled by Azmin today at the news conference at the Selangor State Secretariat office, will have 4 PKR members , 3 PAS members and 3 DAP members.
Under Khalid's administration, Pas held four seats while DAP and PKR held three seats each.
Seven exco members from the previous administration have remained in the new line up.
They are Elizabeth Wong Keat (PKR), Dr Daroyah Alwi (PKR), Datuk Teng Chang Khim (DAP), Ean Yong Hian Wah (DAP), V. Ganabatirau (DAP), Iskandar Ab Samad (PAS) and Dr Ahmad Yunus Hairi (PAS).
The new names in Azmin's administration include state deputy speaker Nik Nazmi Nik Ahmad (PKR), Batu Caves assemblyman Amirudin Shari (PKR) and Taman Templer assemblyman Zaiby Abdul Talib (PAS).
Azmin said that Nik Nazmi has tendered his resignation as state deputy speaker to be part of the exco.
Sallehan Mukhyi (PAS), Dr Halimah Ali (PAS) and Rodziah Ismail (PKR) have been dropped from the line up.
Azmin said that the reduction of PAS seats was not to 'punish' the party for not supporting PKR and DAP in nominating Wan Azizah as MB during the long Selangor MB crisis this year.
"This was all done through the mutual understanding between the three PR parties," he added.
"I have taken into account the view of all Pakatan Rakyat leaders for appointment of the new exco members," he said.
"The meeting with the PR leaders was focused on forming a strong, cooperative and efficient exco line-up to move Selangor forward," he told a press conference this morning.
Azmin reiterated that this was the list approved by the Sultan of Selangor Sultan Sharafuddin Idris Shah yesterday (Sept 25).
"I have also agreed that the post of deputy speaker will be held by a PAS representative," he said, noting that the appointment will be done later in November when the state legislative assembly convenes.
Subang Jaya state assemblyman Hannah Yeoh has remained as the state speaker.
He also said that the portfolio of the excos members will be decided over the weekend.
The new exco members will be sworn in at Istana Alam Shah this afternoon.

thesundaily_my Sentifi Top 10 talked about stocks