Government to set up technical committee over east Malaysia states’ rights

26 Jun 2016 / 18:53 H.

PETALING JAYA: A technical committee to identify the issues of non-compliance in matters relating to Sabah and Sarawak rights in Malaysia will be set up by the government.
Minister in the Prime Minister's Department Nancy Shukri (pix) said it would have representatives from the federal government as well as Sabah and Sarawak state governments, and historians from the two states.
Issues of non-compliance to be identified by the committee would be based on the Inter-Governmental Committee Report, Malaysia Agreement 1963, Malaysia Act, Federal Constitution and other reports or documents such as the Cobbold Commission.
Any recommendations by the committee would then be forwarded to the federal government for considerations, she said, adding the first report is expected to be presented to the Cabinet by year end.
The issue of Sabah and Sarawak's rights within the Malaysia federation have been hotly debated recently, especially after Sarawak Chief Minister Tan Sri Adenan Satem promised Sarawakians better delegation of powers by the federal to the state.
Nancy, who is Batang Sadong MP, said the decision to form the technical committee was made during a meeting on state rights which was co-chaired by her and Foreign Minister Datuk Seri Anifah Aman on June 13.

thesundaily_my Sentifi Top 10 talked about stocks