Three new ministers (Updated)

27 Jun 2016 / 23:36 H.

PUTRAJAYA: Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Abdul Razak today announced a Cabinet reshuffle which saw three new ministers being appointed while another switched portfolios.
The new ministers are Datuk Johari Abdul Ghani (Finance II), Gerakan president Datuk Mah Siew Keong (Plantation Industries and Commodities), and Tan Sri Noh Omar (Urban Wellbeing, Housing, and Local Government).
The reshuffle also saw Barisan Nasional strategic communications director Datuk Abdul Rahman Dahlan switching portfolio from Urban Wellbeing, Housing and Local Government to minister in the Prime Minister's Department, heading the Economic Planning Unit (EPU).
Abdul Rahman replaces Tan Sri Abdul Wahid Omar who ended his services after completing his three-year term as senator earlier this month.
Johari, who is Titiwangsa MP, was promoted from deputy finance minister II to finance minister II following the resignation of Datuk Seri Ahmad Husni Hanadzlah.
Najib said Ahmad Husni had resigned for personal reasons and did not elaborate.
"I accept his decision to end his services for personal reasons and would like to thank him for his service thus far," said Najib, who explained that the reshuffle was to fill vacant minister and deputy minister positions.
"I also take this opportunity to switch minister portfolios in the Cabinet, re-appoint a former minister, and a few deputy ministers to strengthen the current administration."
Najib said the reshuffle would ensure the government agenda of being people-centric and to emphasise economic development, welfare and safety, continues to be on the right track as promised.
Mah replaces Parti Pesaka Bumiputra Bersatu's Datuk Seri Douglas Uggah Embah, who was appointed Sarawak deputy chief minister after winning the Bukit Saban state seat in last month's Sarawak state election.
Meanwhile, Noh, who was formerly agriculture and agro-based industry minister in Najib's Cabinet from 2009 to 2013, makes a return, taking over from Abdul Rahman.
Six new deputy ministers named by Najib were:
>> Umno's Jerlun MP Datuk Othman Aziz and MCA vice-president Datuk Lee Chee Leong, who were both appointed deputy finance ministers;
>> Umno's Silam MP Datuk Datu Nasrun Datu Mansur as deputy plantation industries and commodities minister, replacing Tan Sri Noriah Kasnon who died in a helicopter crash last month when campaigning in the Sarawak election;
>> MIC deputy president Senator Datuk Seri S. K. Devamany as deputy minister in the Prime Minister's Department (portfolio to be announced); and
>> MCA vice-president and Labis MP Datuk Chua Tee Yong as deputy international trade and industries minister.
This is the third Cabinet reshuffle by Najib since he retained his position as the prime minister following the 13th general election, with the first in June 2014 and the second in July 2015 when Datuk Seri Ahmad Zahid Hamidi replaced Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin as the deputy prime minister.
When asked if this would be the last Cabinet reshuffle before the next general election, slated for Aug 24, 2018 at the latest, Najib said it would depend on when the polls would be held.
Pressed for an election date, he played coy, saying he didn't know.

thesundaily_my Sentifi Top 10 talked about stocks