EC receives 836 objections to proposed redelineation exercise

18 Oct 2016 / 21:24 H.

    PETALING JAYA: The Election Commission (EC) has received 836 objections to its proposed redelineation exercise for the Peninsular and Sabah.
    Its chairman Datuk Seri Mohd Hashim Abdullah said the objections were received throughout the month-long display and objection period, which ended on Oct 14.
    “Under Schedule 13 of the Federal Constitution, the EC will now conduct local inquiries to hear all representations via the state government, local councils and 100 registered voters in the respective areas.
    “The EC will inform those who had put in their objections on the date, time and place of the hearing through letters,” he said in a statement today.
    He also expressed the EC’s appreciation to those who cooperated throughout the display and objection period for the redelineation exercise.
    Federal seats affected include five in Selangor, three in Perak, and one each in Kedah, Negri Sembilan and Johor.
    The Serdang seat (P102) in Selangor is to be renamed Bangi while Petaling Jaya Utara (P106) is to be changed to Damansara.
    Changes in Perak include the renaming of the Beruas (P068) seat to Ayer Tawar, while Deputy Prime Minister Datuk Seri Ahmad Zahid Hamidi, who is the MP for Bagan Datok, will see a slight change to the spelling of its name to Bagan Datoh.
    In Johor, Bukit Serampang (N07) is to be renamed Bukit Kepong, Jorak (N08) to Bukit Pasir, Sungai Agong (N13) to Simpang Jeram, Tanjong Surat (N39) to Tanjung Surat and Tanjong Puteri (N44) to Larkin.
    Opposition MPs have claimed the exercise involved a huge transfer of voters, with Petaling Jaya Utara (renamed Damansara) going from around 85,000 voters in 2013 to over 150,000 voters, making it the constituency with the largest number of voters.
    Putrajaya meanwhile, will have only 18,000 voters or just 12% of what Damansara would have.
    Apart from the Opposition, objections against the proposed redelineation had also been filed by Barisan Nasional component parties MCA, MIC and Gerakan. Umno has also put on record that it is unhappy with the proposed changes.
    Today, the Selangor government said they would file a judical review application soon against the exercise.
    Mentri Besar Datuk Seri Mohamed Azmin Ali said the state government wanted the EC’s proposal to be suspended until the matter is heard in court.
    Lawyers Datuk Ambiga Sreenevasan and Datuk Cyril Dass are being appointed to handle the matter.

    thesundaily_my Sentifi Top 10 talked about stocks