MTCC appoints new chairman

02 Aug 2018 / 21:33 H.

    KUALA LUMPUR: Datuk K. Yogeesvaran, the former secretary-general of the Ministry of Plantation Industries and Commodities, has been appointed chairman of the Malaysian Timber Certification Council (MTCC), effective July 27, 2018.
    MTCC chief executive officer Yong Teng Koon said Yogeesvaran, who replaced the former chairman Datuk Himmat Singh, brings with him a great wealth of experience and expertise following a distinguished career with the civil service that spanned over 37 years.
    "With such a distinguished personality, MTCC will definitely benefit from Yogeesvaran's knowledge and experience to advance and spearhead the sustainable forest management agenda in the country through the Malaysian Timber Certification Scheme," he said in a statement today.
    Yogeesvaran began his career at the Economic Planning Unit (EPU) as an administrative and diplomatic service officer in 1981.
    Among the positions he had held included that of director, Knowledge Economy Division; director, Industry Service Division; and deputy director-general (Macro) of the EPU before being promoted as the secretary general for the Ministry of Plantation Industries and Commodities in August 2017 until his retirement in May 2018. — Bernama

    thesundaily_my Sentifi Top 10 talked about stocks