Sarawak CM confident BN will win majority of seats in GE14

24 Apr 2018 / 16:42 H.

KUCHING: Sarawak Chief Minister Datuk Patinggi Abang Johari Tun Openg is confident that the 31 candidates named today for the 14th General Election (GE14) will be able to meet the Barisan Nasional (BN) target to win the majority of the parliamentary seats in Sarawak.
He said out of the 31 seats, 14 seats would be contested by PBB, seven by SUPP, PRS (six) and PDP (four).
Abang Johari said 15 new faces – from PBB (six), SUPP (six), PRS (two) and PDP (one) – would be among the 31 candidates representing the Sarawak BN.
"The candidates comprised 25 men and six women. We are confident that BN can win 29 seats in the coming general election," he said when announcing the Sarawak BN candidates for the GE14 here today.
Abang Johari, who is also Sarawak BN chairman, also thanked SUPP and UPP for agreeing to use one platform in the general election.
He said all the candidates had been found to be free of corruption and other crimes by the police and the Malaysian Anti-Corruption Commission (MACC). — Bernama

thesundaily_my Sentifi Top 10 talked about stocks