Wee Ka Siong elected new MCA president

05 Nov 2018 / 09:56 H.

    KUALA LUMPUR: Datuk Seri Wee Ka Siong has emerged as the new MCA president after securing a landslide victory in a three-cornered fight.
    He polled 447 votes to defeat his closest rival Gan Ping Sieu, who obtained 182 votes. The other presidential candidate, Ngoo Teck Keong, however, failed to receive any votes.
    Wee, who is also the sole MP from MCA to win his constituency in the May 9 general election, became the party's 11th president.
    His ally, Datuk Dr Mah Hang Soon also won the deputy president's post after garnering 428 votes against his challenger Datuk Tee Siew Keong, who obtained 201 votes.
    The result was announced at 1am by the party’s chief administrative director Lim Chin Hai at Wisma MCA, here tonight.
    In his immediate response to the media when met at Dewan San Choon here, Wee said the result was an endorsement by the delegates for him and Dr Mah to lead the party.
    "I thank all delegates who placed their confidence in us and I hope the elected team will display seriousness in taking on their responsibilities with dedication,” he stated.
    To a question, the new president said he would be calling for a meeting in the next few days with the team to chart the new direction for the party. Wee also urged all party members to close ranks and work together to rebuild the party.
    Meanwhile, the four newly elected vice presidents are Datuk Lim Ban Hong, Datuk Tan Teik Cheng, Datuk Seri Ti Lian Ker and Datuk Yew Teong Look.
    Voter turnout was 66.27% or 21,468 of the total 32,397 divisional delegates eligible to vote.
    They also elected 25 members of the party’s Central Committee.
    This is also the first time MCA used the direct voting system in its election. — Bernama


    thesundaily_my Sentifi Top 10 talked about stocks