153 new Covid-19 cases, three more deaths: Health DG

PETALING JAYA: With 153 new cases reported as of this afternoon, the total number of Covid-19 cases in the country now stands at 4,683. Three new fatalities today raises the death toll to 76.

The Health Ministry’s director general Datuk Noor Hisham Abdullah, in his daily evening address, reported that 113 cases were discharged, bringing the total number of patients to have recovered to 2,108, about 45% of the total number of cases.

He said 66 patients are being treated in intensive care with 37 needing the assistance of breathing ventilators.

The three deaths comprised patients from Seremban, Taiping and Sarawak, all of whom had underlying health ailments.

“The ministry has increased is activities to detect high-risk individuals via a targeted approach.

“With the help of several government agencies and the Seri Petaling Masjid Jamek Council, we have managed to detect several sub clusters,” he said.

According to Noor Hisham, the four new sub-clusters all stemmed from Madrash and Tahfiz religious schools and were detected in Jetantut, Pahang; Penanti, Penang; Sungai Kui, Selangor; and Jasin, Malacca.

In Jerantut, 62 cases were detected and 20 were discharged; likewise six cases in Penanti and four discharged; 90 in Sungai Kui with 67 discharged; and 37 cases in Jasin with one discharged.

He reminded the public not to stigmatise any individual or group of people who have tested positive for Covid-19.

On the effectiveness of hand sanitisers, he said its efficacy is still being studied. Still, he encouraged the people to continue washing their hands and keeping to the MOH’s recommendations to prevent infections.

“From a medical aspect, screening for diagnosis and early treatment is important to ensure all Covid-19 patients can fully recover,” he concluded.

Meanwhile, the number of cases according to state as of 12 noon today stands at - Selangor (1,236); Kuala Lumpur (803); Johor (558); Sarawak (342); Negri Sembilan (318); Sabah (266); Perak (244); Pahang (225); Kelantan (152); Malacca (144); Penang (116); Trengganu (102); Kedah (93); Putrajaya (52); Perlis (17); and Labuan (15).