Opposition picks three MPs to join special committee on emergency

20 Jan 2021 / 19:37 H.

KUALA LUMPUR: The opposition bloc is handing over today the names of three MPs who will also sit on the independent special committee that will advise the Yang di-Pertuan Agong on the emergency in force until Aug 1.

Opposition Leader Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim (pix) said Pakatan Harapan (PH) secretary-general Datuk Seri Saifuddin Nasution Ismail will send the names to Minister in the Prime Minister’s Department (Parliament and Law) Datuk Takiyuddin Hassan.

“We welcome the setting up of the committee. We will have our representatives in the committee because it will give its views on the emergency. As it is a decree of the Yang di-Pertuan Agong, we decided to extend our cooperation.

“Saifuddin (Nasution) contacted the Minister of Law (Takiyuddin) to find out who will chair the committee and the functions of the members. We had to have those answers first. Today, Saifuddin will submit the names (of the MPs),” he said during a virtual media conference today.

The Emergency (Essential Powers) Ordinance 2021 states that an independent special committee shall be established to advise the Yang di-Pertuan Agong, Al-Sultan Abdullah Ri’ayatuddin Al-Mustafa Billah Shah, on the continuing existence of the grave emergency threatening the security, economic life and public order of the country arising from the Covid-19 pandemic.

At the virtual media conference today, Anwar claimed that a number of MPs had made a written request for His Majesty to consider allowing Parliament to convene. The ordinance prohibits the holding of any meeting of Parliament or state legislative assemblies. — Bernama

email blast