Streram successfully submits nomination papers, faces three others

30 Mar 2019 / 11:34 H.

SEREMBAN: Dr S. Streram, the Pakatan Harapan candidate from PKR who was “robbed” of his candidacy for the Rantau state seat in the 14th General Election (GE14) last May, got his second shot after the nomination process for the Rantau by-election here today.

He is in a four-cornered fight with the other candidates being Datuk Seri Mohamad Hasan (Barisan Nasional), who had won the seat unopposed in GE14 after the former was disqualified for not having an EC pass to enter the nomination centre, and independents R. Malar and Mohd Nor Yasin.

The by-election for Rantau was called after the Election Court nullified the results in GE14 following a petition by Streram, 60, an anaesthetist.

Earlier, the nomination centre at Sekolah Jenis Kebangsaan Cina (SJKC) in Bandar Sri Sendayan here opened at 9am sharp and the nomination forms from the candidates were processed within an hour.

Mohamad was the first candidate to hand in his forms, at 9.05am, followed by Malarvizhi (9.07am) while Mohd Nor and Streram, who is also Rantau PKR division deputy head, presented their forms at 9.08am.

Streram, who was attired in a grey lounge suit outfit, was accompanied to the nomination centre by PH president Datuk Seri Dr Wan Azizah Wan Ismail, who is also Deputy Prime Minister; PH de facto leader and PKR president Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim, Bersatu president Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin, Amanah vice president Datuk Seri Dr Mujahid Yusof and DAP vice chairman M. Kula Segaran.

The nomination process went smoothly and there were no untoward incidents.

The EC has allowed 14 days for campaigning. Early voting is on April 9 and polling on April 13.

The constituency has 20,926 registered voters – 20,804 ordinary voters, 118 early voters and four absentee voters.

The racial breakdown is as follows: 55.11% or 11,615 voters are Malays, Chinese (18.80%/3,863 voters), Indians (26.06%/5,441 voters) and others (0.03 %/seven).

This is the seventh by election after GE14. The first was for the Sungai Kandis state seat in Selangor on Aug 4 followed by Balakong and Seri Setia ( both state seats in Selangor) on Sept 8 , Port Dickson parliamentary seat in Negeri Sembilan (Oct 13 ); Cameron Highlands parliamentary seat in Pahang ( Jan 26 and Semenyih state seat in Selangor (March 2). — Bernama

Untitled Document

email blast