Three new clusters identified, four declared closed - Health DG

22 Nov 2020 / 19:58 H.

PUTRAJAYA: The Ministry of Health (MOH) has identified three new clusters today while four clusters have been declared closed, said Health director-general, Tan Sri Dr Noor Hisham Abdullah (pix).

The three new clusters are Pengkalan Barat cluster, Bakti cluster and Bayam Indah cluster.

Dr Noor Hisham said four clusters closed are Kasih cluster, Baiduri cluster, Long cluster and Bestari cluster.

On the details of the new cluster, Dr Noor Hisham said the Pengkalan Barat cluster involved southwest Penang as well as the districts of Kerian, Kuala Kangsar and Kinta in Perak with the indek case (42002nd case) reported Covid-19 positive from screening at the workplace on Nov 10.

“As at today, 251 individuals have been screened with 19 positive cases detected in the cluster,“ he said in a media statement on the development of Covid-19 here today.

The Bakti cluster involved a prison in Seremban district, Negeri Sembilan with the index case (54624th case) being a prisoner reported to be Covid-19 positive through prison admission screening.

Dr Noor Hisham said as of today, 481 individuals had been screened with 16 positive cases found in the cluster.

He said the Bayam Indah cluster involved the districts of Kulim and Kuala Muda in Kedah with 70 individuals screened and 10 were detected Covid-19 positive in the cluster as at today.

“The index case (case 53580th ) for Bayam Indah cluster was reported Covid-19 positive from the screening of a symptomatic individual yesterday,” he said.

He said the latest development brings the total number of active clusters monitored to 167 clusters with 54 of them reporting additional cases. — Bernama

email blast