Arrest warrants issued for six Hong Kong democracy activists - CCTV

31 Jul 2020 / 22:59 H.

    HONG KONG, July 31 (Reuters) - Chinese state television said on Friday Hong Kong authorities have issued arrest warrants for six pro-democracy activists who fled the territory and are suspected of violating sweeping national security legislation that came into effect a month ago.

    State broadcaster CCTV said the six were wanted on suspicion of secession or colluding with foreign forces, crimes under the new law that punish violators with up to life in prison.

    It named the six as Nathan Law, Wayne Chan Ka-kui, Honcques Laus, Samuel Chu and Simon Cheng and Ray Wong Toi-yeung.

    Hong Kong police declined to comment.

    Beijing imposed the contentious law on its freest city a month ago, circumventing the local legislature, a move condemned by some Western governments, right groups and activists in China's most free-wheeling city.

    Critics of the law fear it will crush freedoms in the global financial hub, prompting some to flee overseas.

    Supporters believe the law is needed to restore law and order to the former British colony after a year of sometimes violent anti-government protests.

    (Reporting By Twinnie Siu, Yanni Chow Carol Mang and Jessie Pang; Writing by Anne Marie Roantree; Editing by Alison Williams)

    email blast