SEARCH

REUTERS NEWS SCHEDULE AT 6 a.m. GMT/1 a.m. ET

14 Jan 2021 / 14:02 H.

    Here are the top stories and upcoming coverage plans for Reuters text service as of 6 a.m. GMT/1 a.m. ET. For a full schedule of news and events, go to our editorial calendar on Reuters Connect https://www.reutersconnect.com/planning or on Media Express http://mediaexpress.reuters.com/planning-tools/calendar.

    TOP STORIES

    GLOBAL

    INDONESIA-CRASH/

    Indonesia to resume search for victims, black box of crashed Sriwijaya jet

    JAKARTA (Reuters) - Indonesian divers prepared to resume a search on Thursday for the remains of 62 victims and the cockpit voice recorder from a Sriwijaya Air plane that plunged into the Java Sea soon after takeoff last weekend, officials said.

    SOUTHKOREA-POLITICS-PARK/

    South Korea court upholds jail for ex-president Park, clearing way for chance of a pardon

    SEOUL (Reuters) - South Korea's top court upheld on Thursday a 20-year jail sentence for former President Park Geun-hye on graft charges that led to her downfall, bringing an end to the legal process and so for the first time raising the possibility of a pardon.

    U.S.

    USA-TRUMP/

    U.S. House impeaches Trump for a second time; 10 Republicans vote yes

    WASHINGTON (Reuters) - Donald Trump on Wednesday became the first president in U.S. history to be impeached twice, as 10 of his fellow Republicans joined Democrats in the House of Representatives to charge him with inciting an insurrection in last week's violent rampage in the Capitol.

    USA-TRUMP-LAWYERS-EXCLUSIVE/

    Exclusive: Trump considering lawyer who spoke at rally for impeachment defense – sources

    President Donald Trump may hire a law professor who spoke at his rally before the riot at the U.S. Capitol to help defend him in an impeachment trial over a charge that he incited the violence, according to two people familiar with the matter.

    BUSINESS

    USA-TRUMP-CHINA-INVESTMENTS/

    Trump bolsters ban on U.S. investments in China

    WASHINGTON (Reuters) - President Donald Trump has signed an order strengthening a November ban on U.S. investments in alleged Chinese military companies, the White House said on Wednesday, curbing Chinese access to U.S. capital markets days before he leaves office.

    USA-TRUMP-CHINA-TECH/

    Trump administration shelves planned investment ban on Alibaba, Tencent, Baidu: sources

    WASHINGTON (Reuters) - The Trump administration has scrapped plans to blacklist Chinese tech giants Alibaba, Tencent and Baidu, four people familiar with the matter said, providing a brief reprieve to Beijing's top corporates amid a broader crackdown by Washington.

    ENTERTAINMENT

    HIPGNOSIS SONGS-SHAKIRA/

    'Queen of Latin Music' Shakira tunes in to trend of selling music rights

    Colombian pop superstar Shakira has become the latest artist to sell the rights to her catalogue of 145 songs to London-listed Hipgnosis Songs Fund, the investment firm said on Wednesday, as the coronavirus crisis crushes concert earnings.

    TELEVISION-WANDAVISION/

    'WandaVision' spins heroes through worlds of Marvel and classic TV sitcoms

    LOS ANGELES (Reuters) - The Marvel Cinematic Universe returns to the screen starting Friday in "WandaVision," a story that takes two popular characters on a trip that alternates between classic American television sitcoms and a modern-day superhero world.

    SPORTS

    CRASH-BRYANT/

    NTSB to hold Feb. 9 hearing to determine probable cause of Kobe Bryant fatal crash

    WASHINGTON (Reuters) - The National Transportation Safety Board (NTSB) said on Wednesday it would hold a hearing on Feb. 9 to determine the probable cause of the January 2020 helicopter crash that killed retired NBA star Kobe Bryant, his daughter and seven others.

    HEALTH-CORONAVIRUS/BASKETBALL-LEBRON

    NBA-James keen to avoid returning to bubble life

    LeBron James guided the Los Angeles Lakers to the NBA Championship inside a bio-secure environment in Orlando last year but says just the thought of being stuck inside a bubble again gives him the shakes.

    UPCOMING

    POLITICS / INTERNATIONAL AFFAIRS

    MALAYSIA-POLITICS/MAHATHIR (PIX)

    REUTERS NEXT - Interview with former Malaysian premier Mahathir

    Interview with former Malaysian prime minister Mahathir Mohamad.

    14 Jan 06:00 ET, 11:00 GMT

    HEALTH-CORONAVIRUS/PORTUGAL (TV)

    Lisbon residents, businesses react to new COVID-19 lockdown

    Lisbon residents and businesses react to the government's announcement of a new lockown to fight a worrying rise in coronavirus infections.

    14 Jan 09:00 ET, 14:00 GMT

    HEALTH-CORONAVIRUS/GERMANY-INSTITUTE (PIX) (TV)

    Head of Germany's Robert Koch Institute for infectious diseases speaks to reporters

    Lothar Wieler, president of Germany's Robert Koch Institute (RKI) for infectious diseases, speaks to reporters one day after Health Minister Jens Spahn dashed hopes the country would be able to lift all coronavirus lockdown curbs at the beginning of February.

    14 Jan 09:00 ET, 14:00 GMT

    RUSSIA-SAUDI/ (TV)

    Russian Foreign Minister Sergei Lavrov holds talks with Saudi counterpart

    Russian Foreign Minister Sergei Lavrov holds talks with Saudi Foreign Minister Faisal bin Farhan in Moscow.

    14 Jan 10:00 ET, 15:00 GMT

    USA-TRUMP/IMPEACHMENT-MANAGERS

    FACTBOX-A look at the nine U.S. House Democrat who will lead second Trump impeachment

    Factbox details the nine Democratic U.S. Representatives who will lead the historic second impeachment of President Donald Trump over the storming of the Capitol by his supporters.

    14 Jan 11:00 ET, 16:00 GMT

    HEALTH-CORONAVIRUS/GERMANY-

    German econonomy minister gives 2021 outlook

    German Economy Minister Peter Altmaier holds a virtual news conference to give an economic outlook for 2021, which is still marked by the impact of the coronavirus pandemic.

    14 Jan 11:30 ET, 16:30 GMT

    USA-TRUMP/SUPPORTERS (TV)

    INSIGHT-Republican Party faces rage from both pro- and anti-Trump voters

    After riots at the U.S. Capitol by President Donald Trump's supporters, the Republican Party is seeing defections from two camps of voters it can't afford to lose: those saying Trump and his allies went too far in contesting the election - and those saying they didn't go far enough, according to polling and interviews with two dozen voters.

    14 Jan 14:00 ET, 19:00 GMT

    CANADA-POLITICS/TRUDEAU (TV)

    REUTERS NEXT-Canada PM Justin Trudeau speaks in interview

    Canadian Prime Minister Justin Trudeau will speak in an exclusive interview on COVID-19, climate change and other issues.

    14 Jan 16:30 ET, 21:30 GMT

    SCIENCE / TECHNOLOGY

    HEALTH-CORONAVIRUS/JAPAN-HOSPITALS

    Japan PM to meet with heads of medical groups amid COVID-19 pandemic

    Japanese Prime Minister Yoshihide Suga meets with president of the Japan Medical Association and heads of five other medical groups to discuss responses to the coronavirus pandemic.

    14 Jan 07:00 ET, 12:00 GMT

    HEALTH-CORONAVIRUS/BULGARIA-MODERNA (PIX) (TV)

    First people to receive Moderna COVID-19 vaccinations in Bulgaria

    Bulgaria starts Moderna COVID-19 vaccinations at a hospital in Sofia amid opposition concerns over the slow start of the vaccination campaign in the Balkan country and limited quantities it will receive from the first two approved vaccines in the EU by the end of July. So far about 16,500 front-line medics have been innoculated in the country of 7 million people. Health Minister Kostadin Angelov said Bulgaria has ordered enough vaccines to cover all who want to get a shot and remained optimistic that the vaccination will speed up.

    14 Jan 07:00 ET, 12:00 GMT

    HEALTH-CORONAVIRUS/WHO (TV)

    WHO's Emergency Ctte meets on COVID vaccination, virus variants

    The committee which first called the coronavirus outbreak a "public health emergency of international concern" a year ago meets with focus on vaccinations for travellers and the SARS-CoV-2 variants. The 16-member panel of independent experts chaired by Didier Houssin is due to issue a statement with recommendations (no timing).

    14 Jan 10:00 ET, 15:00 GMT

    HEALTH-CORONAVIRUS/RUSSIA-VACCINE

    REUTERS NEXT - Interview with Kirill Dmitriev, head of Russia's sovereign wealth fund that has financed and promoted the Sputnik V vaccine

    Kirill Dmitriev, head of Russia's sovereign wealth fund which has financed and promoted the Sputnik V vaccine, talks about vaccine politics and prospects for domestic and foreign rollout.

    14 Jan 11:00 ET, 16:00 GMT

    HEALTH-CORONAVIRUS/TURKEY

    Turkey's President Tayyip Erdogan speaks at his AK Party central administrative committee

    Turkey's President Tayyip Erdogan speaks at his AK Party central administrative committee.

    14 Jan 11:00 ET, 16:00 GMT

    NATURA & CO HLDG-BRAZIL/ENVIRONMENT

    REUTERS NEXT-Natura Latam CEO, Braxil ex-environment minister talk Amazon business

    Natura & Co Latam CEO Joao Paulo Ferreira and former Brazil Environment Minister Marina Silva discuss the state of Amazon rainforest destruction and possible sustainable business solutions for the region.

    14 Jan 15:30 ET, 20:30 GMT

    BUSINESS / ECONOMICS

    TURKEY-ECONOMY/HOUSING

    Turkish statistics institute announces December housing sales

    Turkey's statistics institute to announce December housing sales which cooled after a big spike last year with cheap loans.

    14 Jan 07:00 ET, 12:00 GMT

    DELTA AIR-RESULTS/

    Delta Air to post annual loss hit by coronavirus pandemic

    Delta Air Lines is due to post on Thursday its first annual loss in more than a decade after the coronavirus pandemic slashed air travel demand, with focus on the speed of a recovery as COVID-19 vaccines roll out. It is the first U.S. airline to post 2020 results.

    14 Jan 13:25 ET, 18:25 GMT

    USA-FED/ROSENGREN

    (VIA PRERECORDED VIDEO) Boston Federal Reserve Bank President Rosengren speaks before Boston Business Journal event

    (VIA PRERECORDED VIDEO) Federal Reserve Bank of Boston President Eric Rosengren speaks before virtual Boston Business Journal "Recover Boston: The Road Ahead - Economic Issues in 2021."

    14 Jan 14:00 ET, 19:00 GMT

    IMF-OUTLOOK/

    IMF spokesman holds news conference

    IMF spokesman Gerry Rice holds regular news conference.

    14 Jan 15:30 ET, 20:30 GMT

    USA-FED/BOSTIC

    Atlanta Federal Reserve Bank President Bostic moderates' panel at virtual event

    Federal Reserve Bank of Atlanta President Raphael Bostic moderates "Small Business Recovery" panel and gives closing remarks before virtual Inclusive Recovery Series event.

    14 Jan 16:00 ET, 21:00 GMT

    USA-FED/POWELL

    Federal Reserve Chairman Powell speaks to Princeton University virtual event

    Federal Reserve Chairman Jerome Powell participates in conversation before virtual event hosted by the Princeton University Bendheim Center for Finance.

    14 Jan 17:30 ET, 22:30 GMT

    USA-FED/KAPLAN

    Dallas Federal Reserve Bank President Kaplan participates in moderated q&a

    Federal Reserve Bank of Dallas President Robert Kaplan participates in moderated question-and-answer session before virtual 2021 Texas McCombs Business Outlook Series hosted by the University of Texas at Austin.

    14 Jan 18:00 ET, 23:00 GMT

    CONFLICTS / WAR / PEACE

    YEMEN-SECURITY/UN (TV)

    U.N. Security Council to be briefed on Yemen

    U.N. Security Council to receive monthly briefing on Yemen. It comes after the United States announced plans to to designate Yemen's Houthi movement as a foreign terrorist organization, a move the United Nations warned could undermine peace talks and make it harder to feed Yemenis enduring the world's largest humanitarian crisis.

    14 Jan 15:00 ET, 20:00 GMT

    email blast