SEARCH

REUTERS SPORTS SCHEDULE AT 2 p.m. GMT/9 a.m. ET

13 Jan 2021 / 22:07 H.

    Here are the top sports stories and upcoming coverage plans for Reuters text service as of 2 p.m. GMT/9 a.m. ET. For a full schedule of news and events, go to our editorial calendar on Reuters Connect https://www.reutersconnect.com/planning.

    TOP STORIES

    TENNIS-ABUDHABI/

    Sabalenka clinches third straight title with Abu Dhabi win

    Belarusian Aryna Sabalenka made a strong start to her 2021 season with a comfortable 6-2 6-2 victory over Veronika Kudermetova of Russia to clinch the WTA 500 event in Abu Dhabi on Wednesday and extend her winning streak to 15 matches.

    TENNIS-AUSOPEN/

    Jones defies rare physical condition to qualify for Australian Open

    Britain's Francesca Jones, who suffers from a rare genetic condition, reached her maiden Grand Slam main draw on Wednesday when she beat China's Lu Jiajing in the final round of Australian Open qualifying in Dubai.

    TENNIS-ANTALYA/

    Aussie De Minaur warms up for home slam with Antalya title

    Australian Alex de Minaur warmed up for his home Grand Slam with an ATP title on Wednesday, winning the Antalya Open when fellow finalist Alexander Bublik retired with an ankle injury after just seven minutes' play.

    UPCOMING

    TENNIS-DELRAY/ (TV)

    Tennis - ATP 250 - Delray Beach Open

    The final of the Delray Beach Open - an ATP 250 tournament.

    13 Jan 15:00 ET / 20:00 GMT

    MOTOR-RALLY-DAKAR/ (PIX) (TV)

    Rallying - Dakar Rally

    Stage 11 of the Dakar Rally in Saudi Arabia is a 557-kilometre drive from Al-Ula to Yanbu.

    14 Jan 04:00 ET / 09:00 GMT

    OLYMPICS-2020/BRITAIN (TV)

    Olympics - Interview with Team GB Chef de Mission

    Interview with Team GB's Chef de Mission Mark England as plans continue for the rescheduled Tokyo Olympics.

    13 Jan 09:00 ET / 14:00 GMT

    BASKETBALL

    BASKETBALL-NBA-CHA-DAL/ (PIX)

    Basketball - NBA - Charlotte Hornets v Dallas Mavericks 2020-21 NBA Season (Regular Season) - Spectrum Center, Charlotte, North Carolina

    14 Jan 19:00 ET / 00:00 GMT

    BASKETBALL-NBA-DET-MIL/ (PIX)

    Basketball - NBA - Detroit Pistons v Milwaukee Bucks

    2020-21 NBA Season (Regular Season) - Little Caesars Arena, Detroit, Michigan

    14 Jan 19:00 ET / 00:00 GMT

    BASKETBALL-NBA-LAC-NOP/ (PIX)

    Basketball - NBA - Los Angeles Clippers v New Orleans Pelicans

    2020-21 NBA Season (Regular Season) - Staples Center, Los Angeles, California

    14 Jan 22:00 ET / 03:00 GMT

    BASKETBALL-NBA-MIN-MEM/ (PIX)

    Basketball - NBA - Minnesota Timberwolves v Memphis Grizzlies

    2020-21 NBA Season (Regular Season) - Target Center, Minneapolis, Minnesota

    14 Jan 20:00 ET / 01:00 GMT

    BASKETBALL-NBA-NYK-BKN/ (PIX)

    Basketball - NBA - New York Knicks v Brooklyn Nets

    2020-21 NBA Season (Regular Season) - Madison Square Garden, New York, New York

    14 Jan 19:30 ET / 00:30 GMT

    BASKETBALL-NBA-OKC-LAL/ (PIX)

    Basketball - NBA - Oklahoma City Thunder v Los Angeles Lakers

    2020-21 NBA Season (Regular Season) - Chesapeake Energy Arena, Oklahoma City, Oklahoma

    14 Jan 20:00 ET / 01:00 GMT

    BASKETBALL-NBA-PHX-ATL/ (PIX)

    Basketball - NBA - Phoenix Suns v Atlanta Hawks

    2020-21 NBA Season (Regular Season) - PHX Arena, Phoenix, Arizona

    14 Jan 21:00 ET / 02:00 GMT

    BASKETBALL-NBA-SAC-POR/ (PIX)

    Basketball - NBA - Sacramento Kings v Portland Trail Blazers

    2020-21 NBA Season (Regular Season) - Golden 1 Center, Sacramento, California

    14 Jan 22:00 ET / 03:00 GMT

    CRICKET

    CRICKET-TEST-AUS-IND/ (PIX) (TV)

    Cricket - Fourth Test - Australia v India - Preview

    Australia and India look ahead to the fourth test, which is due to take place in Brisbane.

    14 Jan 03:00 ET / 08:00 GMT

    CRICKET-TEST-LKA-ENG/

    Cricket - First Test - Sri Lanka v England - Day 1

    The first day of the first of two tests between Sri Lanka and England at Galle International Stadium.

    14 Jan 03:00 ET / 08:00 GMT

    ICEHOCKEY

    ICEHOCKEY-NHL-COL-STL/ (PIX)

    Hockey - NHL - Colorado Avalanche v St. Louis Blues

    2020-21 NHL Season (Regular Season) - Ball Arena, Denver, Colorado

    14 Jan 22:30 ET / 03:30 GMT

    ICEHOCKEY-NHL-EDM-VAN/ (PIX)

    Hockey - NHL - Edmonton Oilers v Vancouver Canucks

    2020-21 NHL Season (Regular Season) - Rogers Place, Edmonton, Alberta

    14 Jan 22:00 ET / 03:00 GMT

    ICEHOCKEY-NHL-PHI-PIT/ (PIX)

    Hockey - NHL - Philadelphia Flyers v Pittsburgh Penguins

    2020-21 NHL Season (Regular Season) - Wells Fargo Center, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

    13 Jan 17:30 ET / 22:30 GMT

    ICEHOCKEY-NHL-TBL-CHI/ (PIX)

    Hockey - NHL - Tampa Bay Lightning v Chicago Blackhawks

    2020-21 NHL Season (Regular Season) - Amalie Arena, Tampa, Florida

    14 Jan 20:00 ET / 01:00 GMT

    ICEHOCKEY-NHL-TOR-MTL/ (PIX)

    Hockey - NHL - Toronto Maple Leafs v Montreal Canadiens

    2020-21 NHL Season (Regular Season) - Scotiabank Arena, Toronto, Ontario

    14 Jan 19:00 ET / 00:00 GMT

    SOCCER

    SOCCER-ENGLAND-FUL-CHE/PREVIEW

    Soccer - England - Premier League - Chelsea news conference

    Chelsea's Frank Lampard holds a news conference ahead of his side's Premier League match against Fulham.

    14 Jan 08:30 ET / 13:30 GMT

    SOCCER-ENGLAND-MCI-BRH/REPORT (PIX)

    Soccer - England - Premier League - Manchester City v Brighton & Hove Albion

    Manchester City play Brighton & Hove Albion in the Premier League.

    13 Jan 13:00 ET / 18:00 GMT

    SOCCER-ENGLAND-TOT-FUL/REPORT (PIX)

    Soccer - England - Premier League - Tottenham Hotspur v Fulham

    Tottenham Hotspur face Fulham in the Premier League. Spurs were originally due to play Aston Villa away but the fixture was postponed due to the Birmingham-based club's number of COVID-19 cases.

    13 Jan 15:15 ET / 20:15 GMT

    SOCCER-ENGLAND/

    Soccer - England - Premier League preview

    Preview of the weekend fixtures

    Jan 14

    SOCCER-FRANCE-PSG-OLM/REPORT (PIX)

    Soccer - France - Trophee des Champions - Paris St Germain v Olympique Marseille

    Paris St Germain play Olympique Marseille in the French Super (Trophee des Champions) in Lens.

    13 Jan 15:00 ET / 20:00 GMT

    SOCCER-GERMANY-HKI-BAY/REPORT (PIX)

    Soccer - Germany - DFB Cup - Kiel v Bayern Munich

    Kiel play Bayern Munich in the second round of the DFB Cup.

    13 Jan 14:45 ET / 19:45 GMT

    SOCCER-ITALY-JUV-GEN/REPORT

    Soccer - Italy - Coppa Italia - Juventus v Genoa

    Juventus host Genoa in the Coppa Italia Round of 16. We will round up the rest of Wednesday's cup ties.

    13 Jan 14:45 ET / 19:45 GMT

    SOCCER-ITALY/PREVIEW

    Soccer - Italy - Serie A preview

    Preview of the weekend's Serie A matches

    14 Jan 06:00 ET / 11:00 GMT

    SOCCER-LIBERTADORES-STS-BOJ/REPORT (PIX)

    Soccer - Copa Libertadores - Santos v Boca Juniors

    Soccer Football - Copa Libertadores - Semi Final - Second Leg - Santos v Boca Juniors - Estadio Urbano Caldeira, Santos, Brazil - January 13, 2021

    13 Jan 17:00 ET / 22:00 GMT

    SOCCER-SPAIN-SOC-FCB/REPORT (PIX) (TV)

    Soccer - Spain - Spanish Super Cup - Real Sociedad v Barcelona

    Real Sociedad play Barcelona in the first Spanish Super Cup semi-final in Cordoba.

    13 Jan 15:00 ET / 20:00 GMT

    email blast