SEARCH

REUTERS SPORTS SCHEDULE AT 6.30 p.m. GMT/2.30 p.m. ET

28 Oct 2020 / 02:32 H.

    Here are the top sports stories and upcoming coverage plans for Reuters text service as of 6.30 p.m. GMT/2.30 p.m. ET. For a full schedule of news and events, go to our editorial calendar on Reuters Connect https://www.reutersconnect.com/planning.

    TOP STORIES

    HEALTH-CORONAVIRUS/SOCCER-INFANTINO

    FIFA President Infantino test positive for COVID-19

    FIFA President Gianni Infantino has tested positive for COVID-19, global soccer's governing body said on Tuesday.

    SOCCER-ENGLAND-BUR-TOT/

    Mourinho shares credit for potent Kane-Son partnership

    Tottenham Hotspur's Harry Kane and Son Heung-min have formed the Premier League's most potent partnership under Jose Mourinho this season but the Portuguese manager says some of the credit has to go to his predecessor Mauricio Pochettino.

    MOTOR-F1-NORRIS/

    Norris apologises for 'stupid and careless' comments

    McLaren's Lando Norris publicly apologised on Tuesday, but without naming anyone, after the Briton played down compatriot Lewis Hamilton's record 92nd Formula One win at Sunday's Portuguese Grand Prix.

    UPCOMING

    SOCCER-CHAMPIONS-LIV-FCM/REPORT (PIX)

    Soccer - Champions League - Liverpool v FC Midtjylland

    Liverpool face FC Midtjylland in the Champions league.

    27 Oct 16:00 ET / 20:00 GMT

    SOCCER-CHAMPIONS-BMG-MAD/REPORT (PIX) (TV)

    Soccer - Champions League - Borussia Moenchengladbach v Real Madrid

    Borussia Moenchengladbach face Real Madrid in the Champions league.

    27 Oct 16:00 ET / 20:00 GMT

    SOCCER-CHAMPIONS-OLM-MCI/REPORT (PIX)

    Soccer - Champions League - Soccer - Champions League - Olympique Marseille v Manchester City

    Olympique Marseille face Manchester City in the Champions league.

    27 Oct 16:00 ET / 20:00 GMT

    SOCCER-CHAMPIONS-ATM-RBS/REPORT (PIX)

    Soccer - Champions League - Atletico Madrid v FC Salzburg

    Atletico Madrid face FC Salzburg in the Champions league.

    27 Oct 16:00 ET / 20:00 GMT

    SOCCER-CHAMPIONS-ATT-AJA/REPORT (PIX)

    Soccer - Champions League - Atalanta v Ajax Amsterdam

    Atalanta host Ajax Amsterdam in their Champions League Group D match in Bergamo seeking a second win in the group. Ajax lost their group opener at home to Liverpool last Wednesday

    27 Oct 16:00 ET / 20:00 GMT

    SOCCER-CHAMPIONS-POR-OLY/REPORT (PIX)

    Soccer - Champions League - FC Porto v Olympiacos

    FC Porto face Olympiacos in the Champions league.

    27 Oct 16:00 ET / 20:00 GMT

    BASEBALL-MLB-TB-LAD/ (PIX) (TV)

    Baseball - MLB - Tampa Bay Rays v Los Angeles Dodgers

    The Los Angeles Dodgers can win the World Series if they beat the Tampa Bay Rays in Game Six, to take an unassailable 4-2 lead, at the Globe Life Field in Arlington, Texas

    27 Oct 20:08 ET / 00:08 GMT

    TENNIS-ZHENZGZHOU/

    CANCELLED - Tennis - WTA Premier - Zhengzhou Open

    The WTA hosts a Premier tournament in Zhengzhou, China.

    28 Oct

    CRICKET-T20WORLDCUP-AFG-XXX/

    POSTPONED UNTIL 2022 - Cricket - ICC Men's T20 World Cup - Afghanistan v B1

    Afghanistan play the winners of Group B at the Perth Stadium in the ICC T20 World Cup.

    28 Oct 02:00 ET / 06:00 GMT

    RUGBY-UNION-LIONS/ (TV)

    Rugby- Lions boss Gatland holds news conference

    British and Irish Lions coach Warren Gatland holds a news conference as he launches the Lions jersey ahead of their 2021 tour to South Africa.

    28 Oct 07:00 ET / 11:00 GMT

    CRICKET-T20WORLDCUP-AUS-WIN/

    POSTPONED UNTIL 2022 - Cricket - ICC Men's T20 World Cup - Australia v West Indies

    Australia play West Indies at the Perth Stadium in the ICC T20 World Cup.

    28 Oct 07:00 ET / 11:00 GMT

    CYCLING-VUELTA/ (TV)

    Cycling - Vuelta a Espana

    Stage eight of the Vuelta a Espana is a 164-kilometre ride from Logrono to Alto de Moncalvillo.

    28 Oct 08:00 ET / 12:00 GMT

    RUGBY-UNION-NATIONS-FRA-IRL/

    Rugby - Six Nations Championship - Ireland team announcement

    Ireland coach Andy Farrell names his team to take on France in a potentially decisive Six Nations clash at the Stade de France on Saturday.

    28 Oct 09:00 ET / 13:00 GMT

    RUGBY-UNION-CHAMPIONS/DRAW

    Rugby-Champions Cup pool stage draw

    Champions Cup pool stage draw in Lausanne where 24 teams will be drawn into two pools.

    28 Oct 10:00 ET / 14:00 GMT

    SOCCER-CHAMPIONS-IBA-PSG/REPORT (PIX)

    Soccer - Champions League - Istanbul Basaksehir v Paris St Germain

    Istanbul Basaksehir face Paris St Germain in the Champions league.

    28 Oct 13:55 ET / 17:55 GMT

    SOCCER-CHAMPIONS-KRA-CHE/REPORT (PIX)

    Soccer - Champions League - FC Krasnodar v Chelsea FC Krasnodar face Chelsea in the Champions league.

    28 Oct 13:55 ET / 17:55 GMT

    POLITICS / INTERNATIONAL AFFAIRS

    BELARUS-ELECTION/BASKETBALL (PIX) (TV)

    Imprisoned for protests, Belarusian basketball star hopes country will rebound

    After twice representing Belarus at the Olympics, basketball player Yelena Leuchanka was imprisoned for representing the protest movement that has engulfed her country since a presidential election demonstrators say was rigged.

    28 Oct

    email blast