SEARCH

REUTERS SPORTS SCHEDULE AT 7.30 p.m. GMT/2.30 p.m. ET

15 Jan 2021 / 03:29 H.

    Here are the top sports stories and upcoming coverage plans for Reuters text service as of 7.30 p.m. GMT/2.30 p.m. ET. For a full schedule of news and events, go to our editorial calendar on Reuters Connect https://www.reutersconnect.com/planning.

    TOP STORIES

    SOCCER-ENGLAND/

    Soccer-Man United's title aspirations set for Anfield acid test

    There have been a few false dawns but there is growing belief that Manchester United are on the cusp of reclaiming their place as the pre-eminent force in English football.

    HEALTH–CORONAVIRUS/TENNIS-MURRAY

    Murray a doubt for Australian Open after testing COVID-19 positive

    Britain's former world number one Andy Murray is doubtful for next month's Australian Open after organisers confirmed on Thursday that he has tested positive for the new coronavirus.

    MOTOR-F1-FERRARI/LECLERC

    Ferrari's Leclerc isolating after positive COVID-19 test

    Ferrari Formula One driver Charles Leclerc announced on Thursday he had tested positive for COVID-19 and was self-isolating at home in Monaco with mild symptoms.

    UPCOMING

    SPORTS

    SOCCER-SPAIN-MAD-ATB/REPORT (PIX) (TV)

    Soccer - Spain - Spanish Super Cup - Real Madrid v Athletic Bilbao

    Real Madrid play Athletic Bilbao in the second Spanish Super Cup semi-final in Malaga.

    14 Jan 15:00 ET / 20:00 GMT

    SOCCER-ENGLAND-ARS-CRY/REPORT (PIX)

    Soccer - England - Premier League - Arsenal v Crystal Palace

    Arsenal face Crystal Palace in the Premier League.

    14 Jan 15:00 ET / 20:00 GMT

    OLYMPICS-SURFING/

    Surfing-Surfers look ahead to Tokyo Olympics

    Surfers discuss the state of the sport as they prepare for the COVID-19 delayed Tokyo Olympics.

    14 Jan 15:00 ET / 20:00 GMT

    GOLF-SONYOPEN/

    Golf - PGA Tour - Sony Open in Hawaii

    First round of the Sony Open in Hawaii from Waialae Country Club in Honolulu, where Cameron Smith is the defending champion.

    14 Jan 16:00 ET / 21:00 GMT

    BASKETBALL-NBA-PHI-MIA/ (PIX)

    Basketball - NBA - Philadelphia 76ers v Miami Heat

    2020-21 NBA Season (Regular Season) - Wells Fargo Center, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

    15 Jan 19:00 ET / 00:00 GMT

    ICEHOCKEY-NHL-NJD-BOS/ (PIX)

    Hockey - NHL - New Jersey Devils v Boston Bruins 2020-21 NHL Season (Regular Season) - Prudential Center, Newark, New Jersey

    15 Jan 19:00 ET / 00:00 GMT

    ICEHOCKEY-NHL-FLA-DAL/ (PIX)

    POSTPONED - Hockey - NHL - Florida Panthers v Dallas Stars

    2020-21 NHL Season (Regular Season) - BB&T Center, Sunrise, Florida

    15 Jan 19:00 ET / 00:00 GMT

    ICEHOCKEY-NHL-NYR-NYI/ (PIX)

    Hockey - NHL - New York Rangers v New York Islanders

    2020-21 NHL Season (Regular Season) - Madison Square Garden, New York, New York

    15 Jan 19:00 ET / 00:00 GMT

    ICEHOCKEY-NHL-BUF-WSH/ (PIX)

    Hockey - NHL - Buffalo Sabres v Washington Capitals

    2020-21 NHL Season (Regular Season) - KeyBank Center, Buffalo, New York

    15 Jan 19:00 ET / 00:00 GMT

    ICEHOCKEY-NHL-DET-CAR/ (PIX)

    Hockey - NHL - Detroit Red Wings v Carolina Hurricanes

    2020-21 NHL Season (Regular Season) - Little Caesars Arena, Detroit, Michigan

    15 Jan 19:30 ET / 00:30 GMT

    BASKETBALL-NBA-TOR-CHA/ (PIX)

    Basketball - NBA - Toronto Raptors v Charlotte Hornets 2020-21 NBA Season (Regular Season) - Amalie Arena, Tampa, Florida

    15 Jan 19:30 ET / 00:30 GMT

    BASKETBALL-NBA-SAS-HOU/ (PIX)

    Basketball - NBA - San Antonio Spurs v Houston Rockets

    2020-21 NBA Season (Regular Season) - AT&T Center, San Antonio, Texas

    15 Jan 19:30 ET / 00:30 GMT

    CRICKET-TEST-AUS-IND/ (PIX)

    Cricket - Fourth Test - Australia v India

    Day one of the fourth and final test between Australia and India at the Gabba.

    15 Jan 20:00 ET / 01:00 GMT

    ICEHOCKEY-NHL-WPG-CGY/ (PIX)

    Hockey - NHL - Winnipeg Jets v Calgary Flames

    2020-21 NHL Season (Regular Season) - Bell MTS Place, Winnipeg, Manitoba

    15 Jan 20:00 ET / 01:00 GMT

    ICEHOCKEY-NHL-NSH-CBJ/ (PIX)

    Hockey - NHL - Nashville Predators v Columbus Blue Jackets

    2020-21 NHL Season (Regular Season) - Bridgestone Arena, Nashville, Tennessee

    15 Jan 20:00 ET / 01:00 GMT

    ICEHOCKEY-NHL-EDM-VAN/ (PIX)

    Hockey - NHL - Edmonton Oilers v Vancouver Canucks

    2020-21 NHL Season (Regular Season) - Rogers Place, Edmonton, Alberta

    15 Jan 21:00 ET / 02:00 GMT

    ICEHOCKEY-NHL-ARI-SJS/ (PIX)

    Hockey - NHL - Arizona Coyotes v San Jose Sharks

    2020-21 NHL Season (Regular Season) - Gila River Arena, Glendale, Arizona

    15 Jan 21:00 ET / 02:00 GMT

    BASKETBALL-NBA-DEN-GSW/ (PIX)

    Basketball - NBA - Denver Nuggets v Golden State Warriors

    2020-21 NBA Season (Regular Season) - Ball Arena, Denver, Colorado

    15 Jan 22:00 ET / 03:00 GMT

    ICEHOCKEY-NHL-LAK-MIN/ (PIX)

    Hockey - NHL - Los Angeles Kings v Minnesota Wild

    2020-21 NHL Season (Regular Season) - Staples Center, Los Angeles, California

    15 Jan 22:00 ET / 03:00 GMT

    BASKETBALL-NBA-POR-IND/ (PIX)

    Basketball - NBA - Portland Trail Blazers v Indiana Pacers

    2020-21 NBA Season (Regular Season) - Moda Center at the Rose Quarter, Portland, Oregon

    15 Jan 22:00 ET / 03:00 GMT

    ICEHOCKEY-NHL-VGK-ANA/ (PIX)

    Hockey - NHL - Vegas Golden Knights v Anaheim Ducks

    2020-21 NHL Season (Regular Season) - T-Mobile Arena, Las Vegas, Nevada

    15 Jan 22:00 ET / 03:00 GMT

    RUGBY-UNION-JAPAN/ (TV)

    Rugby-Japan announces plans for new top level league to begin in 2022

    The Japanese Rugby Football Union makes a long-awaited announcement on plans for a new top level domestic rugby union league to begin in 2022. The league is expected to be lucrative and may attract many of the world's biggest stars away from their domestic competitions.

    15 Jan 23:00 ET / 04:00 GMT

    CRICKET-TEST-LKA-ENG/

    Cricket - First Test - Sri Lanka v England - Day 2

    The second day of the first of two tests between Sri Lanka and England at Galle International Stadium.

    15 Jan 03:00 ET / 08:00 GMT

    MOTOR-RALLY-DAKAR/ (PIX) (TV)

    Rallying - Dakar Rally

    The 12th and final stage of the Dakar Rally in Saudi Arabia is a 452-kilometre drive from Yanbu to Jeddah.

    15 Jan 04:00 ET / 09:00 GMT

    SPORT-DOPING/GERMANY (PIX) (TV)

    Verdict likely on German doctor charged with years of blood doping

    Verdict expected from Munich court in case of German sports doctor, Mark S., who has admitted to helping athletes with blood doping for years in "Operation Bloodletting".

    15 Jan 06:00 ET / 11:00 GMT

    SOCCER-ENGLAND-SHU-TOT/PREVIEW (TV)

    Soccer - England - Premier League - Tottenham Hotspur news conference

    Tottenham Hotspur's Jose Mourinho speaks to the media ahead of his side's Premier League match against Sheffield United.

    15 Jan 07:30 ET / 12:30 GMT

    SOCCER-ENGLAND-LIV-MUN/PREVIEW (TV)

    Soccer - England - Premier League - Liverpool news conference

    Liverpool's Juergen Klopp speaks to the media ahead of his team's Premier League match against Manchester United.

    15 Jan 08:00 ET / 13:00 GMT

    SOCCER-ENGLAND-LIV-MUN/PREVIEW (TV)

    Soccer - England - Premier League - Manchester United news conference

    Manchester United's Ole Gunnar Solskjaer speaks to the media ahead of his team's Premier League match away to Liverpool.

    15 Jan 08:30 ET / 13:30 GMT

    SOCCER-ENGLAND-MCI-CRY/PREVIEW

    Soccer - England - Premier League - Manchester City news conference

    Manchester City's Pep Guardiola speaks to the media ahead of his side's Premier League match against Crystal Palace.

    15 Jan 08:30 ET / 13:30 GMT

    email blast