Youngest MP, P. Prabakaran joins PKR

13 May 2018 / 19:59 H.

KUALA LUMPUR: Batu MP, P. Prabakaran who won on an independent ticket in the 14th General Election on Wednesday, today confirmed joining PKR.
The matter was announced by the constituency's former MP and PKR vice-president, Tian Chua at a Batu Parliamentary Victory Celebration here today.
Prabakaran said he had always dreamt of becoming a member of PKR.
"I am proud to be a member of PKR and today I have fulfilled my dream.
"Initially I only wanted to champion the aspirations of youths in Batu in my attempt to contest in the constituency but after getting PKR full support, I get the spirit to go all out," he told reporters today.
Prabakaran, 22, intends to champion the rights of university students to join politics and have the freedom of speech.
The country's youngest member of Parliament also broke the 41-year-old record set by former prime minister Datuk Seri Najib Abdul Razak when he became the youngest MP at the age of 23 after winning the Pekan parliamentary seat on Feb 21 1979.
Prabakaran polled 38, 125 votes to beat Barisan Nasional's Dr Dominic Lau Hoe Chai who received 13,687 votes, PAS candidate Azhar Yahya (10,610) and Independent candidate, Datuk V. M. Panjamothy (383).
His victory was assisted by PKR voters when the party pledged to support the young candidate after the previous incumbent Tian Chua of PKR could not contest following a fine by the court on his case. — Bernama

thesundaily_my Sentifi Top 10 talked about stocks