Langkawi Bersatu deputy chief, 22 committee members quit party

LANGKAWI: Langkawi Bersatu Division deputy chief Shukor Bahari and 22 of the 25 committee members of the division have resigned from the party with immediate effect.

Following this, 16 branches in the Langkawi Bersatu Division had been automatically dissolved, Shukor told a press conference at the Langkawi MP’s service centre today.

“We, on our own accord and without being forced by anyone, hereby declare our departure from the party with immediate effect,” he added.

Former prime minister Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad, who is the MP for Langkawi and former Langkawi Bersatu Division chief, announced on Friday that he would be forming a new Malay-based party. — Bernama