Sabah Election: Polling centres closed, vote counting begins

26 Sep 2020 / 19:20 H.

KOTA KINABALU: All of the 741 polling centres for the 73 Sabah State Legislative Assembly seats in the 16th state election closed at 5 pm today.

Some polling centres closed earlier due to the lack of voters. In fact, there were polling centres that closed at 2 pm or 3 pm.

The polling process went smoothly for nine and a half hours without any untoward incidents after the polling centres opened at 7.30 am.

With the close of polling, the vote-counting process has begun to determine who will get to rule Sabah for the next five years.

Election Commission (EC) chairman Datuk Abdul Ghani Salleh informed that the full results of the election are expected to be available at about 10 pm. -Bernama

More to follow

email blast